2011 officers & 2010 year in review

The 2011 Officers are as follows:

Executive Officers
President: Mike McKillip
Vice President: Glenn Evans
Second Vice President: Joanne Lingle
Secretary: Sherry Pickel
Treasurer: Dale Rider
Trustees: Chris DeHart, Dennis Gallagher, Henry Pickel, and Dave Sheaffer

Fire Officers:
Chief 59: Robert Furlong
Chief 59-1: Chris DeHart
Chief 59-2: Jason Brown

Lieutenant 59: Justin Lenker
Lieutenant 59-1: Kory Hahn

Chief’s Aid 59: Austin Byler

For 2010, Lower Swatara Fire Department answered 565 emergencies. Of the 565 calls, 27 were considered jobs or working fires that required at least one line stretched and put in service. Another 7 of the 565 emergencies were pins or accidents with someone still entrapped in the vehicle. These calls required hydraulic tools put in service to assist in the extrication. In addition, to the working fires and vehicle accidents with entrapment, FDLS answered 10 boat emergencies that consisted of seven water rescues of distressed boaters or people in the water, two large hazmat spills and a boat fire.

2010 was also a successful year with hundreds of kids and adults receiving fire prevention education throughout the year by Company 59. The majority of this public education took place in October during fire prevention week, but occurred periodically throughout the year. At open house in October, the company estimated of about 800 to 900 people came to show support to Lower Swatara Fire Department along with other mutual aid companies like Middletown (88), Swatara (49), Progress (32), Londonderry (54), Lawnton (44) and Steelton (50) Fire Companies along with private companies like PPC and University EMS.

Thank You for Your Support, We look forward Serving You in 2011.

This entry was posted by lowerswatara59.
%d bloggers like this: